1 Can of Spray Paint + A Shabby Chic Birdcage

22 Oct

I realized recently that I haven’t done any fun DIY posts on here in a while, so let’s do one of the easiest projects in the WHOLE WORLD! All you need is some spray paint and something you want to paint. That’s IT!

I picked up this shabby chic birdcage at the thrift store for $4.90. I think it was probably used as a card holder at someone’s wedding because in addition to the birdie door opening there is a latch that you can undo so you can lift up the entire top.

image

The birdcage was originally painted a beige-ish color and had spots of nastiness and rust on it. It wasn’t too cute, but I liked its size and curves… so into my trunk it went. And there it lived for a couple months because I was too lazy to bring it inside.

Well, I got the urge to do some spray painting… so I grabbed a can of teal paint that was just hanging out in my basement with the spiders.

image_1

Two coats later (with no prep-work at all) and check out the curves on this bad boy! Bow chicka, bowwow…right?!

image_4

The project cost me less than $5.00 since I had the paint leftover from another project. However, if you needed to buy a can of Rustoleum spray paint they typically cost around $6 and you’d have plenty leftover for other projects.

image_3

Have you been spray painting anything lately? What color would you have chosen for my birdcage project? I was originally thinking of spraying it shiny silver and hanging it in Jack’s room like a spaceship…

6 Responses to “1 Can of Spray Paint + A Shabby Chic Birdcage”

  1. Words for Worms October 22, 2013 at 12:01 pm #

    This is seriously cute. It would be an adorable addition to a porch, such as the one I recently had put in. Hmmm… On a side note, my wedding card holder was a wire pumpkin, because I did it up fall style for the Nov 21 date. It isn’t often you get to brag about details of your wedding from 4 years ago, I had to carpe the diem, if you know what I’m saying.

    • JoulesDellinger October 22, 2013 at 12:04 pm #

      Do you still have your pumpkin card holder? Because you could totally spray paint it and add it to your porch decor… maybe add a tealight candle inside too? =)

      • Words for Worms October 22, 2013 at 12:20 pm #

        It was rented from the florist, so no. But I kind of want that now! I wonder if they still carry them…

  2. Ashley F October 22, 2013 at 12:43 pm #

    Very pretty!

    My aunt bought a huge old bird cage that had legs and everything and turned it into a planter.

    • JoulesDellinger October 22, 2013 at 12:51 pm #

      That sounds awesome!

  3. Joy October 23, 2013 at 8:23 pm #

    SUPER cute! I was thinking white, since that’s kind of how I roll. I like to paint my WALLS bold colors, then decorate with white, black and/or silver. That way my housewares don’t go “out of style” because I’m cheap! Speaking of cheep cheep….
    I saw these mechanical birds that tweet, I wonder if my little girls would fall for mechanical birds in a beautiful cage and think it counts as a pet? 🙂

Leave a Reply

