Happy National Dessert Day!

14 Oct

Today is a bittersweet day for me.

{Which is kind of funny, because it’s National Dessert Day so it SHOULD be a sweet-sweet day. Har-de-har-har.}

The last five months of working with Breyers as a Delicious Moment’s Ambassador have been wonderful, but today marks my last ambassador post. It’s been a pretty tasty few months so it only seems right to go out with style on National Dessert Day!

Since we already know that it doesn’t go well when I attempt to make up ice cream recipes, I’ll point you towards a recipe created for Breyers by Clare Crespo of YummyFun… Ice Cream Goblins!

Ice Cream Goblin

Source: Breyers, http://www.breyers.com

All you need for this creepy goblin recipe is:

  • an ice cream cone,
  • decorating icing/candies/sprinkles,
  • 1 scoop of ice cream,
  • 2 small soft square candies,
  • 2 small round candies,
  • 2 small oblong candies, and
  • 1 small red candy.

Click here for the full instructions and Nutritional information!

Since your kids will probably be all hopped up on Halloween candy on Thursday, October 31st (and let’s face it… you probably will be too), this would be a fun surprise for Wednesday night! Or Friday night. Or pretty much any night this month that you’re feeling exceptionally spooky.

FREE Ice cream!
When I was organizing the mess in my bedroom this weekend, I found that I have a few extra FREE ice cream coupons — so let’s have a mini giveaway so I don’t use them all and hibernate with gallons and gallons of ice cream this winter!  If you’d like to enter to win, leave a comment below and tell me about your favorite Halloween costume. It could have been that time you were a pumpkin in kindergarten and cried and cried because you didn’t want to go into your classroom (yes, this happened) or the year that you were a “fallen angel” in college and a friend driving down the street saw you and thought you were a prostitute (this also really happened). I’ll give away a total of THREE prizes to three of you!

I’ll accept entries from now until noon on Wednesday, October 16, 2013!

10/16/13 Update: The three winners (who win a coupon for free Breyers ice cream) are: Mary P, Missy F and LeeAnne. I will be emailing the winners directly to let them know that they won. Thank you everyone for playing!

This post was created in connection with my appointment as an Ambassador in the Breyers Blogger Program. Visit www.facebook.com/breyers to join the conversation. All prizes have been provided by Breyers.

16 Responses to “Happy National Dessert Day!”

  1. Betsy Why October 14, 2013 at 9:14 am #

    I should exclude myself from the contest part since I just won lol – and am enjoying some Breyer’s Neopolitan because of it 😉 But I just had to share my favorite Halloween costume (and one of my favorite -and only- memories of my dad). He took me trick-or-treating and agreed to dress up. We went as Raggedy Ann and Andy in costumes that my mom handmade. I was obsessed with Raggedy Ann as a kid, so that year was just…*beyond* for me 🙂

    • JoulesDellinger October 14, 2013 at 9:16 am #

      That’s adorable! I remember one year my mom and dad dressed up as Raggedy Ann & Andy!

  2. Mary P October 14, 2013 at 3:56 pm #

    While I was in college in 1988 (yes, I’m old), I dressed up with a friend as Robert Palmer’s back up girls for a frat party. We wore tight black mini dresses, slicked our hair back, had RED lips and didn’t talk to anyone. Whenever we got asked to dance, we stood there and danced like his backup dancers. We had SO much fun with it!

    • JoulesDellinger October 14, 2013 at 3:59 pm #

      That sounds so funny! And would totally work today, even if those whippersnappers might not know what we were… =)

  3. Ryan R October 14, 2013 at 4:28 pm #

    Last year I was 8 1/2 months preggo with my second and I made a shirt (iron on because I’m not that good!) It was a rib cage skeleton and had a little baby girl skeleton on my belly…I actually wish I was preggo again so I could wear it again this year! Lol!

    • JoulesDellinger October 14, 2013 at 4:55 pm #

      Cool idea!

  4. Jesica October 14, 2013 at 8:59 pm #

    I’m not much of a costume person but I do recall very clearly two different homemade clown costumes. I don’t remember wanting to be a clown but maybe my mom decided? Either way, I am pretty sure they scarred me for life. Clowns are so, so creepy. Doesn’t that deserve some ice cream? 🙂

    • JoulesDellinger October 15, 2013 at 11:33 am #

      Ugh, clowns ARE creepy! {shiver}

  5. Words for Worms October 14, 2013 at 9:01 pm #

    I’ve had some really fun costumes, but one of my favorites was when I dressed up as a bumble bee. It was in homage to the bee girl from the Blind Melon video… I had a big black tutu and it was amazing!

    • JoulesDellinger October 15, 2013 at 11:33 am #

      AWWW, the bumblebee costume sounds adorable!

  6. Eliza Payne October 15, 2013 at 5:11 pm #

    Not sure if I can even qualify to win since I live in Canada, but would like to tell you about my best halloween costume anyways!!
    I was in grade 6 (many years ago!) and halloween was sneaking up fast and my parents didn’t have much money to buy a costume so my dad told me he would make me one.. that in itself was scary, cause my mom was always the one in our family who had the good ideas and could sew! I wasn’t allowed to see what my dad was making for me and it drove me crazy.. and a day before we were to take our costumes to school for the annual “Halloween Sock Hop” (wow, do they even have those anymore??) dad took me out to the shop to show me his creation..It was an outhouse! Yes, my dad had made me an outhouse from a fridge box, which he covered in brown paper, making it look like wood, hung a toilet paper roll on the outside and cut a cresent moon in the door. He even made a platform toilet inside, and to make it so I could be inside the outhouse (for trick or treating purposes) he put straps on the platform, that I wore on my shoulders, leaving my hands from (my body went through the “potty hole”). He even thought ahead and had my mom stuff a pair of his pants for legs hanging down in front of the platform, or toilet section!! I won best costume that year in school but I must say, it was hard to go door-to-door with that costume!

    • JoulesDellinger October 16, 2013 at 10:52 am #

      Wow, what a great dad! That costume sounds AMAZING and I can see why you won best costume!

  7. LeeAnne October 15, 2013 at 5:12 pm #

    My favorite costumes are the random ones 🙂 A couple years ago I went as a pink shower puff/loofah with tulle galore complete with a tulle hat with the white loop coming off the top. Surprisingly, the hat looked very “Jackie O” lol. Last year I was a speed bump. I dressed in all yellow and literally ran over my clothes with my car for tire tracks and dirt lol. I love Halloween 🙂

    • JoulesDellinger October 16, 2013 at 10:53 am #

      I think I remember seeing a picture of the shower poof and it was adorable!

  8. Missy F. October 15, 2013 at 10:04 pm #

    My favorite costume was an amazing, beautiful genie outfit my mom got me in the 4th grade. It was purple, flowy, & sparkly. I thought it was the most beautiful costume I had ever seen:)

    • JoulesDellinger October 16, 2013 at 10:53 am #

      Awww, I’m sure you felt like a princess when you wore it too!

Leave a Reply

