Help! Change Scares Me

31 Jul

I’ve been going back and forth and back and forth again about giving this here blog a little update. It’s funny, I do a bit of freelance graphic design on the side, but when it comes to my own blog I shy away from change.

I’ve used the “cow butt” picture on my blog Facebook page since I started it almost exactly a year ago. I really feel that the picture pretty much sums up my entire blog. I was driving through the country taking pretty pictures one day and when I pulled over to take a picture of cows, one started smelling it’s own butt. Nope, no boring farm pictures for me. I get the one that makes me laugh so hard tears run down my face.

That is pretty much how I approach life — and this blog — things may not work out exactly as I expect but I typically end up laughing hysterically.

It only makes sense to keep my branding consistent across my blog, Twitter and Facebook page… which is why I think a little change is in order. But change is SCARY! Which is why I’m asking for you to weigh in…

Here is the banner that has been living on my blog for the past couple years:

new banner - 11-12

Here is the new one I’m considering:

new banner in progress 7-31-13I’d love it if you could leave your thoughts in the comments!

7/31 Update: Thank you to everyone who left me a comment here and on Facebook. It was 100% FOR the new design… so I made a couple more teensy design changes and went for it! I’m loving the new look and I appreciate you all giving me a little shove.

11 Responses to “Help! Change Scares Me”

  1. Adrianne July 31, 2013 at 11:27 am #

    Either is great. MY PREFERENCE is the cow.

  2. apleasanthouse July 31, 2013 at 11:29 am #

    I like the new one- absofrikinlutley!

  3. Jessy July 31, 2013 at 11:33 am #

    I like the one with the cows in it because it matches your Facebook. Just my two cents 🙂

  4. Words for Worms July 31, 2013 at 11:33 am #

    I really like the new one- I think it’s cute! Plus I like the consistency of you using the same font you’ve been using to watermark your photos.

    • JoulesDellinger July 31, 2013 at 12:00 pm #

      YOU NOTICED!? =)

      • Words for Worms July 31, 2013 at 8:50 pm #

        I know right? Every once in a while I’m perceptive 🙂

  5. Jennifer July 31, 2013 at 11:37 am #

    I like them both, but I think the new one is more colorful.

  6. Katie's Dad July 31, 2013 at 11:43 am #

    Cows … But I’m a Wisconsin boy and the sight of Holsteins on pasture is one of natures beautiful scenes as long as they behave themselves!

  7. Kari July 31, 2013 at 11:52 am #

    THE COW!!!
    That makes me giggle hysterically whenever I see it.
    Case in point- Ella is sick right now and just looking at it now made me laugh out loud with all the fever and puke.
    So I think that is the best advice I can give.
    🙂

  8. Decorum DIYer July 31, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

    The new one, without a doubt! I like the quirkiness of the cows in the meadow. 😀

  9. Lynette July 31, 2013 at 1:59 pm #

    The cow one has great color and is funny!

Leave a Reply

