Last Ditch* Effort: Getting all Bloggie Up in Here

14 Mar

You may remember when I told you a couple weeks ago that I was totally honored to be a named a 2013 Bloggie Awards finalist in category of Best Kept Secret Weblog.

Well, we’re down to the FINAL COUNTDOWN** because voting is only open until March 17th and time is running out to get your votes in!

Since you’re probably going to be drinking green beer all weekend because you’re totally like 1/16th Irish, you should probably go on over now and cast your vote. All you need to do is visit the 2013 Bloggies website and choose your favorite blogs from the finalists in each category – Pocketful of Joules is listed under Best Kept Secret Weblog. Once you vote, you will receive a confirmation email back to your account. Click that link and BOOM GOES THE DYNAMITE, you just voted!

If you need a little extra nudge, here are 3 reasons you should vote for my blog:

1. I post really stupid pictures on Instagram.
I posted this picture the other day with the caption, “Soooo whatcha doing? Wanna get some wine and watch a chick flick?” Why did I do it? Because it made me giggle and I was hoping it would make someone else giggle too. I also posted this one while saying out loud in a Fat Bastard voice, “GET IN MY BELLY!”

2. I’m really good at keeping secrets.
Since the category is “Best Kept Secret” I think I should get extra points because I am a super awesome secret keeper. Really, I’m like a VAULT where secrets go in and NOTHING comes out. Ask Chrissy – she totally IM’ed me about Katie’s super awesome gift before Katie even knew about it (and here’s Katie’s side of the story). (PS. Both of these lovely ladies are finalists in the Best Writing of a Weblog category, so share the love by voting for one of them while you’re clicking around on the Bloggies page).

3. It’s my 2 year blogiversary.
That’s right; March 25th is my anniversary of blogging for TWO WHOLE YEARS! And I happen to know for a fact that the proper gift to celebrate 2 years is an awesome and prestigious blogging award. Or you could go with the traditional 2 year anniversary gift of cotton, but frankly that’s pretty lame compared to a freaking BLOGGIE!

 

*Why is the phrase “last ditch” anyways? Are you passing a bunch of ditches and this is the very last one that you pass before you just give up and drive your truck onto the shoulder of the road?

** Fun fact, my brother-in-law called my husband the morning of our wedding and played The Final Countdown into his phone. I’m pretty sure he also compared getting married to being pulled under by undertow at the beach during his best man speech. So, um… thanks Ken.

11 Responses to “Last Ditch* Effort: Getting all Bloggie Up in Here”

  1. Words for Worms March 14, 2013 at 12:17 pm #

    What what!? Thanks for the pimping, Joules! Last Ditch Effort. I’m just spitballing here, I have NOTHING to go on… But if I were a guessing woman, I’d GUESS the phrase originated during WWI what with all the trench warfare and whatnot. It would be the LAST DITCH… Before you died or surrendered. I’m going to look up the origin of that phrase now. If I’m right, I WANT COOKIES! PS I love you.

    • Words for Worms March 14, 2013 at 12:24 pm #

      I googled! I was semi-right. The origin IS military, but way way older than WWI. I think I deserve half a cookie.

      • JoulesDellinger March 14, 2013 at 12:27 pm #

        I do make delicious cookies… =)

  2. segmation March 14, 2013 at 12:34 pm #

    Maybe you need to go and get some green beer!

    • JoulesDellinger March 14, 2013 at 12:38 pm #

      I don’t think I’ve ever actually had green beer, but I’ll totally drink some if I see any this weekend! BTW, it totally thrills me that your avatar is 1 2 3 4 and you left your comment at exactly 12:34…

  3. Cheryl Nicholl March 14, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

    I just found you thru Bloppy’s and I LIKE. I’. going to follow you funny lady! Good luck with the Bloggie Award!

    • JoulesDellinger March 15, 2013 at 2:20 pm #

      Thank you Cheryl!

  4. anothercleanslate March 15, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

    Good luck!!! I’ve been lurking but trying to be more active now and I will start with voting on this! 🙂

    • JoulesDellinger March 15, 2013 at 2:20 pm #

      Thank you so much for de-lurking. Or, um unlurking. Whichever it is, thanks!

      • anothercleanslate March 15, 2013 at 2:48 pm #

        Looking forward to more lurkless (?) action!

Leave a Reply

